Gaucho Provisions
← Spice & Seasoning Guide

Product profile · Black pepper, garlic and smoke-flavored rub · Updated 2026-10-16

Stubb’s — Black Pepper & Smoke Rub

A salt-based rub with black pepper, celery seed, garlic, onion and applewood-smoke natural flavor. The photographed 12.2 oz jar has a matching $9.99 shelf tag.

About Stubb’s →
Stubb’s Black Pepper and Smoke Rub in a 12.2 oz black-lidded jar
Supplied package photograph, reproduced unchanged.

The product at a glance

Brand
Stubb’s
Category
Black pepper, garlic and smoke-flavored rub
Net weight
345 g / 12.2 oz
UPC
734756011033
Origin / packing information
Packed in USA — package statement
Cooking test
Not yet recorded

$9.99 photographed shelf price

Mariano’s — owner-reported shopping context · Matching 12.2 oz tag prints 81.9 cents per ounce. Price is a shelf observation; checkout price, branch and photograph/purchase dates are unknown.

Who is behind the product?

Stubb’s traces its story to C.B. Stubblefield’s restaurant in Lubbock, Texas, opened in 1968. McCormick acquired One World Foods, Inc., seller of Stubb’s products, in 2015. The photographed rub names Stubb’s Legendary Bar-B-Q as distributor; its physical factory is not identified. Read the brand profile.

Company roles and evidence
BrandStubb’sProduct branding on the photographed jar. Package source
Brand owner / acquired businessMcCormick & Company / One World Foods, Inc.McCormick announced its acquisition of One World Foods, seller of Stubb’s products, in 2015; Stubb’s remains on its official brand site. Manufacturer source
Named distributorStubb’s Legendary Bar-B-Q, Austin, TX 78704The package explicitly says distributed by. This identifies the named distributor, not a physical factory. Package source
Physical manufacturer / packerNot identifiedPacked in USA gives a packing country; the supplied panels do not name the blending or packing facility. Package source
Ingredient suppliers / store supply chainNot establishedNo ingredient supplier identities or jar-specific route to the retailer are documented. Package source
Retail shopping contextMariano’s — owner-reported shopping contextArt identified Mariano’s for this shopping series. This tag does not print a store name, branch or observation date. Photo / owner evidence

Ingredients, origin & label information

Salt, spices (including black pepper, celery seed), garlic, onion & natural flavor (applewood smoke).

Transcribed from the photographed jar in printed order; the official matching-size product page agrees. Applewood smoke is listed as natural flavor. This does not establish that the salt itself was smoked or identify the flavoring process. Package source

Origins of the salt, pepper, celery seed, garlic, onion and flavor ingredients are not disclosed. The Austin, Texas distributor address and packed-in-USA statement do not establish ingredient origin or the physical blending factory.

Serving size1 tsp (3 g); 115 servings per container.Package source
Nutrition per serving0 calories; total fat 0 g (0% DV); sodium 630 mg (27% DV); total carbohydrate 1 g (0% DV); protein 0 g. Values are transcribed from the photographed panel.Package source
Smoke descriptionNatural flavor (applewood smoke) is the ingredient wording; the front says crafted with applewood smoke. No smoking method is independently established.Package source
Shelf-tag claimThe retailer tag displays NON GMO. This is recorded as a shelf-tag claim, not independent verification or evidence of a named certification.Photo / owner evidence
Ingredient disclosureCelery seed is explicitly listed. The full unspecified spices and natural-flavor formulation are not disclosed; no allergen-free claim is made.Package source
Back-label brandingThe back prints True Taste and U.S. Patent No. 11,235,303. These are package observations; the patent scope and manufacturing process have not been verified.Package source
Lot / date codeA code beside the nutrition panel is not reliably transcribed. No lot or best-before date is recorded.Package source

Prices & where to buy

Seller / evidencePriceDate / basis
Mariano’s — owner-reported shopping contextPhotographed shelf price$9.99$2.90 / 100 g, calculatedRecorded 2026-10-16; observation date unknownMatching 12.2 oz tag prints 81.9 cents per ounce. Price is a shelf observation; checkout price, branch and photograph/purchase dates are unknown. Photo / owner evidence

These observations concern the 345 g package. They are not current offers or a ranking; shipping, tax, seller and timing can differ.

Official product page and retailer finder · Official product and sales inquiries

Cooking with it

The package recommends applying the rub before cooking brisket, chicken, burgers or pork. These are maker suggestions, not a Gaucho cooking test.

Our kitchen notes

No tasting or cooking test recorded yet. A future kitchen note can document the dish, seasoning weight, additional salt and Art’s observations.

Explore the Gaucho Journal →

The photographed package

Four supplied photographs, preserved unchanged: front, back, ingredients and nutrition panel, and matching shelf tag. Open the images to inspect the original evidence.

Stubb’s back label with cooking suggestions and UPC 734756011033
Maker usage suggestions, branding and matching UPC.
Stubb’s ingredients, Nutrition Facts, distributor and packed-in-USA statement
Full formula, nutrition and company-role evidence.
Matching 12.2 oz Stubb’s shelf tag showing $9.99 and 81.9 cents per ounce
Photographed shelf observation; not a receipt or guaranteed current offer.

Still to establish

  • Who physically blends and packs this jar?
  • Where do its salt, spices and flavor ingredients originate?
  • Which supplier delivered it to the retail store?
  • What are the readable lot/date code, purchase branch and purchase date?

Profile history

  • 2026-10-16
    Created from four original photographs and official product/ownership sources. Classified as a rub in Spice & Seasoning; no tasting verdict.

Future purchases and label changes will be recorded here rather than replacing earlier observations.

Sources & evidence

  1. Supplied ingredient and Nutrition Facts panelChecked 2026-10-16 · Full ingredients, nutrition, named distributor and packed-in-USA statement. Capture date unknown.
  2. Supplied front photographChecked 2026-10-16 · Black Pepper & Smoke Rub; 12.2 oz / 345 g.
  3. Supplied back photographChecked 2026-10-16 · Maker uses, UPC and True Taste branding.
  4. Supplied matching shelf-tag photographChecked 2026-10-16 · 12.2 oz STUBB BLACK PEPPR SMK RUB, $9.99 and 81.9 cents/oz; matching product code. Mariano’s is owner-reported shopping context; no branch/date printed.
  5. Stubb’s — Black Pepper & Smoke Rub, 12.2 ozChecked 2026-10-16 · Official matching-size listing, ingredients and maker uses.
  6. McCormick completes acquisition of Stubb’sChecked 2026-10-16 · August 20, 2015 acquisition announcement: One World Foods, Inc., seller of Stubb’s products.
  7. Stubb’s official brand pageChecked 2026-10-16 · Current brand presence within McCormick.
  8. Stubb’s frequently asked questionsChecked 2026-10-16 · Product and availability guidance; current package remains the formula reference.
  9. McCormick official contact pageChecked 2026-10-16 · Contact route for product or sales inquiries; not a confirmed wholesale arrangement.

Gaucho Provisions develops its own salts and seasonings. This is a researched profile of another brand’s product, not a Gaucho offer for sale. No rating or tasting verdict is assigned.