Keep It Savory — Shiitake Cremini Sea Salt
Published September 27, 2026 · Evidence purchased September 27, 2026

At a glance
Where is this salt from?
Not stated on package.
What are the ingredients?
sea salt, cremini mushroom, shiitake mushroom
How much sodium does it contain?
250 mg per ¼ tsp; 357 mg per gram, computed.
What did it cost?
$12.99 for 99.2 g; $3.71 per ounce, purchased September 27, 2026.
| Brand | Keep It Savory Salt Company |
| Producer, as labelled | Keep It Savory Salt Co., Chicago, Illinois (manufacturer, as labelled) |
| Salt origin | Not stated on package |
| Business location on package | Keep It Savory Salt Co., Chicago, Illinois, United States (manufacturer) |
| Type | Mushroom sea salt blend |
| Ingredients, verbatim | sea salt, cremini mushroom, shiitake mushroom |
| Net weight | 99.2 g · 3.5 oz |
| Serving | ¼ tsp (0.7 g) · 160 per container |
| Sodium per serving | 250 mg · 11% DV |
| Sodium per gram, computed | 357 mg (band 325–390) · 91% of pure sodium chloride |
| Price paid | $12.99 for 99.2 g / 3.5 oz |
| Price per weight, computed | $3.71 per oz · $59.40 per lb · $13.09 per 100 g · $130.95 per kg |
| Bought at | The Fresh Market · September 27, 2026 |
| Importer / distributor | Manufactured by Keep It Savory Salt Co., Chicago, IL 60623. |
| Barcode | 850041727073 |
| Lot / date code | Best by 7.2028 (handwritten on label; no lot code visible) |
What the label says
Quoted as printed, so the claims can be read for what they are.
- Shiitake Cremini Sea Salt
- Hand cured with salty swagger on Chicago’s West Side.
- Savory is a state of mind.
What we can add
The ingredient list is unusually short for a flavored salt: sea salt, cremini mushroom and shiitake mushroom, in that order. Dark mushroom pieces are visible throughout the jar, mixed with coarse and smaller white crystals.
The package names a manufacturer on Chicago’s West Side, but it does not identify the seawater source, saltworks, salt-producing country, or the origin of either mushroom. A manufacturing address is not an ingredient-origin statement, so the guide leaves origin unstated.
The sodium arithmetic
The panel declares 250 mg of sodium in a ¼ tsp serving weighing 0.7 g, which works out to about 357 mg per gram. Pure sodium chloride is 393. Allowing for the rounding the label is permitted, the true figure sits somewhere in the 325–390 band, or roughly 91% of the sodium a gram of table salt would carry.
The panel declares 250 mg of sodium in a 0.7 g serving, about 357 mg per gram. That is below the theoretical 393 mg per gram for pure sodium chloride, as expected for a blend in which mushroom pieces replace some of the salt by weight. Label rounding means the arithmetic is comparative, not a precise composition measurement.
The price
$12.99 for 99.2 g (3.5 oz) is $3.71 an ounce, or $59.40 a pound — $13.09 per 100 g, $130.95 a kilo. Among the 12 salts in the guide it is number 3 by price per weight, dearest first, and number 6 by sodium per gram. We paid retail at The Fresh Market, on September 27, 2026.
Tasting notes
None yet. We publish tasting notes only against a stated method — how many tasters, in what order, on what food — and we have not run that panel on this salt. When we do, they go here.
Package evidence
Original photography by Gaucho Provisions. Backgrounds are cleaned for consistency; package panels, label text, barcodes and date codes remain the photographed evidence.



Similar salts in the guide

Esprit du Sel — Island of Ré Fennel, Garlic, Parsley

Simply Organic — Hatch Chile Smoked Finishing Salt

OSMO — Flakey White Sea Salt

TRUFF — Black Truffle Salt
Read next
Why a salt company is doing this
Gaucho Provisions sells Patagonian sea salt. This guide records what is on other people’s labels, at the prices we paid, with a photograph of the crystal on white. Every field is copied from the package or the receipt; nothing is scored. We paid retail for every jar, nobody sent us one, and we have no relationship with any brand listed. Our own salts will be entered with the same fields and no more.