Gaucho Provisions
← Spice & Seasoning Guide

Inside the package · TRUFF

TRUFF — Black Truffle Salt

Sea salt, black truffle blend

A coarse sea-salt blend with black truffle concentrate and visible pieces of black summer truffle. Three ingredients, a 150 g glass jar, and no origin stated for either the salt or the truffle.

150 g5.3 oz package
Not yet testedGaucho tasting panel

$7.99 · recorded purchase. Whole Foods Market · August 23, 2026. Price record →

Original record No. 006 · Published September 19, 2026 · Updated September 19, 2026

Look inside ↓
Glass jar of TRUFF Black Truffle Salt with a black label and black lid
The jar. 150 g, glass, black lid, shrink seal intact.

01 · Inside the package

A closer look.

Sea Salt, Black Truffle Concentrate, and Black Truffle [Tuber Aestivum]

Ingredients as printed on the package.

Recorded origin. Not stated on package.

TRUFF — Black Truffle Salt — contents view
Original photo note: The blend out of the jar: coarse white crystals with sparse brown and black pieces of truffle. Photographed on dark wood, unstyled. Public-image backgrounds may differ from the original.

02 · The story behind the package

What we can add

The ingredient list is short but not the same as salt plus pieces of truffle: black truffle concentrate is the second ingredient, followed by black summer truffle identified botanically as Tuber aestivum. The package does not define the concentrate or state how much of either truffle ingredient is present.

The label names a California distributor and calls the product black-truffle infused, but it does not name a coast, saltworks, country of salt harvest or truffle origin. The visible brown and black pieces establish that the jar contains more than flavouring alone; they do not establish provenance.

03 · In the kitchen

Tasting notes

None yet. We publish tasting notes only against a stated method — how many tasters, in what order, on what food — and we have not run that panel on this salt. When we do, they go here.

All package facts & comparison values

At a glance

Where is this salt from?

Not stated on package.

What are the ingredients?

Sea Salt, Black Truffle Concentrate, and Black Truffle [Tuber Aestivum]

How much sodium does it contain?

582 mg per ¼ tsp; 388 mg per gram, computed.

What did it cost?

$7.99 for 150 g; $1.51 per ounce, purchased August 23, 2026.

Package facts and computed comparison values for TRUFF — Black Truffle Salt
BrandTRUFF
Producer, as labelledSauce Ventures, LLC, Costa Mesa, California (distributor, as labelled)
Salt originNot stated on package
Business location on packageSauce Ventures, LLC, Costa Mesa, California, United States (distributor)
TypeSea salt, black truffle blend
Ingredients, verbatimSea Salt, Black Truffle Concentrate, and Black Truffle [Tuber Aestivum]
Net weight150 g · 5.3 oz
Serving¼ tsp (1.5 g) · 100 per container
Sodium per serving582 mg · 25% DV
Sodium per gram, computed388 mg (band 370–405) · 99% of pure sodium chloride
Price paid$7.99 for 150 g / 5.3 oz
Price per weight, computed$1.51 per oz · $24.16 per lb · $5.33 per 100 g · $53.27 per kg
Bought atWhole Foods Market, Deerfield, IL · August 23, 2026
Importer / distributorDistributed by Sauce Ventures, LLC, Costa Mesa, CA 92626.
Barcode850020861736
Lot / date codeTBTS-020-U10 (printed beneath barcode)
What the label says

What the label says

Quoted as printed, so the claims can be read for what they are.

  • Truffle Salt · Black Truffle Infused
  • Made with the finest sea salt and black summer truffle
  • Non-GMO Project Verified
Sodium arithmetic & its limits

The sodium arithmetic

The panel declares 582 mg of sodium in a ¼ tsp serving weighing 1.5 g, which works out to about 388 mg per gram. Pure sodium chloride is 393. Allowing for the rounding the label is permitted, the true figure sits somewhere in the 370–405 band, or roughly 99% of the sodium a gram of table salt would carry.

At 388 mg of sodium per gram, the printed values sit very close to the theoretical figure for pure sodium chloride. The truffle ingredients are visible but sparse, so almost all of each 1.5 g serving is still salt. The label rounding band is wide enough that the small difference from 393 mg per gram is not meaningful on its own.

Recorded price & price per weight

The price

$7.99 for 150 g (5.3 oz) is $1.51 an ounce, or $24.16 a pound — $5.33 per 100 g, $53.27 a kilo. We paid retail at Whole Foods Market in Deerfield, IL, on August 23, 2026.

Package evidence

Original photography by Gaucho Provisions. Backgrounds are cleaned for consistency; package panels, label text, barcodes and date codes remain the photographed evidence.

Glass jar of TRUFF Black Truffle Salt with a black label and black lid
The jar. 150 g, glass, black lid, shrink seal intact.
Nutrition Facts and three-item ingredient list on the TRUFF salt jar
Nutrition Facts and ingredients, as printed.
Distributor statement, Non-GMO mark, barcode and printed code on the TRUFF salt jar
Distributor, verification mark, barcode and printed code.

Similar products in this guide

Why a salt company is doing this

Gaucho Provisions sells Patagonian sea salt. This guide records package labels, available photographs and researched company information. Prices are documented from receipts or shelf tags when available; missing prices remain unconfirmed. Source notes distinguish label facts, company statements and owner reports. Nothing is scored. Our own salts will be entered with the same fields and no more.

← Simply OrganicKeep It Savory Salt Company →
SharePost on X

← Spice & Seasoning Guide

TypeSalt blendBrandTRUFFOriginNot stated
Share

Sharing an image on Facebook or Instagram? Copy this caption and paste it into your post.