McCormick Gourmet — Fleur de Sel
Published September 19, 2026 · Evidence purchased September 19, 2026

At a glance
Where is this salt from?
France — described on package as French Sea Salt; saltworks and region not stated.
What are the ingredients?
Salt (the package presents the product as salt; no separate ingredient statement is visible)
How much sodium does it contain?
380 mg per ¼ tsp; 380 mg per gram, computed.
What did it cost?
$6.99 for 70 g; $2.83 per ounce, purchased September 19, 2026.
| Brand | McCormick Gourmet |
| Producer, as labelled | McCormick & Co., Inc., Hunt Valley, Maryland (distributor, as labelled) |
| Salt origin | France — described on package as French Sea Salt; saltworks and region not stated |
| Business location on package | McCormick & Co., Inc., Hunt Valley, Maryland, United States (distributor) |
| Type | Fleur de sel |
| Ingredients, verbatim | Salt (the package presents the product as salt; no separate ingredient statement is visible) |
| Net weight | 70 g · 2.5 oz |
| Serving | ¼ tsp (1 g) · 70 per container |
| Sodium per serving | 380 mg · 17% DV |
| Sodium per gram, computed | 380 mg (band 355–405) · 97% of pure sodium chloride |
| Price paid | $6.99 for 70 g / 2.5 oz |
| Price per weight, computed | $2.83 per oz · $45.29 per lb · $9.99 per 100 g · $99.86 per kg |
| Bought at | Kroger · September 19, 2026 |
| Importer / distributor | Distributed by McCormick & Co., Inc., Hunt Valley, MD 21031-1105. |
| Barcode | 052100062594 |
| Lot / date code | Best if used by MAR 04 29; code B 16:51 (printed on jar) |
| Goes well with, per the label | Fish, Vegetables |
What the label says
Quoted as printed, so the claims can be read for what they are.
- French Sea Salt
- This delicate finishing French Sea Salt has a thin, flaky and crunchy texture that makes it one of the most treasured gourmet finishing salts in any kitchen.
- Try it on seafood, steamed vegetables, fish and chocolate covered caramels.
- This salt does not supply iodide, a necessary nutrient.
What we can add
The poured sample supports the package description: the crystals are thin and irregular, with many flat flakes and small broken plates rather than uniform cubes. It reads as a finishing salt rather than a dense fine-grain cooking salt.
The package calls the product French Sea Salt, which supports France as the stated country of origin. It does not identify Guérande, Camargue, a named saltworks or another harvesting region, so the guide does not narrow the origin beyond France.
McCormick is identified as the distributor in Hunt Valley, Maryland. That US business address is recorded separately from the salt origin.
The sodium arithmetic
The panel declares 380 mg of sodium in a ¼ tsp serving weighing 1 g, which works out to about 380 mg per gram. Pure sodium chloride is 393. Allowing for the rounding the label is permitted, the true figure sits somewhere in the 355–405 band, or roughly 97% of the sodium a gram of table salt would carry.
The 380 mg declaration is rounded. Dividing by the declared 1 g serving gives 380 mg per gram; the permitted rounding band overlaps the 393 mg per gram theoretical value for pure sodium chloride.
The price
$6.99 for 70 g (2.5 oz) is $2.83 an ounce, or $45.29 a pound — $9.99 per 100 g, $99.86 a kilo. Among the 10 salts in the guide it is number 3 by price per weight, dearest first, and number 4 by sodium per gram. We paid retail at Kroger, on September 19, 2026.
Tasting notes
None yet. We publish tasting notes only against a stated method — how many tasters, in what order, on what food — and we have not run that panel on this salt. When we do, they go here.
Package evidence



Similar salts in the guide

Esprit du Sel — Island of Ré Fennel, Garlic, Parsley

Cornish Sea Salt Co. — Smoky Flakes

Simply Organic — Hatch Chile Smoked Finishing Salt

Le Saunier de Camargue — Fleur de Sel
Read next
Why a salt company is doing this
Gaucho Provisions sells Patagonian sea salt. This guide records what is on other people’s labels, at the prices we paid, with a photograph of the crystal on white. Every field is copied from the package or the receipt; nothing is scored. We paid retail for every jar, nobody sent us one, and we have no relationship with any brand listed. Our own salts will be entered with the same fields and no more.