The Spice Lab — Grilling Sea Salt
Published September 19, 2026 · Evidence purchased September 19, 2026

At a glance
Where is this salt from?
Not stated on package.
What are the ingredients?
Sea Salt
How much sodium does it contain?
Not declared on this package; sodium per gram is not computed.
What did it cost?
$7.95 for 226 g; $1.00 per ounce, purchased September 19, 2026.
| Brand | The Spice Lab |
| Producer, as labelled | The Spice Lab, Pompano Beach, Florida (company address; packed in USA, as labelled) |
| Salt origin | Not stated on package |
| Business location on package | The Spice Lab, Pompano Beach, Florida, United States (company address; packed in USA) |
| Type | Coarse sea salt |
| Ingredients, verbatim | Sea Salt |
| Net weight | 226 g · 8 oz |
| Serving | Not declared on package |
| Sodium per serving | Not declared on package |
| Sodium per gram, computed | Not computed — the package supplies no serving or sodium value |
| Price paid | $7.95 for 226 g / 8 oz |
| Price per weight, computed | $1.00 per oz · $15.96 per lb · $3.52 per 100 g · $35.18 per kg |
| Bought at | The Spice Lab, Pompano Beach, FL · September 19, 2026 |
| Importer / distributor | The Spice Lab, Pompano Beach, FL 33064. Packed in USA. |
| Barcode | 846836028616 |
| Lot / date code | Best by 12/2030; lot 218068-3385 (printed on jar) |
| Goes well with, per the label | Barbecue |
What the label says
Quoted as printed, so the claims can be read for what they are.
- Perfect all-around cooking
- This coarse-grained sea salt is all you need for your grilled meats to taste just like a traditional South American barbecue.
- Gluten free · Non-GMO · All natural · Kosher · Packed in USA
What we can add
The crystal is genuinely coarse: irregular translucent chunks, many several millimetres across, mixed with smaller broken pieces. The jar is a shaker rather than a grinder, and the side panel directs the salt toward grilled meat and South American barbecue.
The package says Packed in USA and gives a Pompano Beach company address. Neither statement identifies the seawater, coast, saltworks or country of crystallisation. Packing location is not salt origin, so the origin remains unstated.
Unlike the other jars currently in the guide, this package has no Nutrition Facts panel. Rather than infer a serving or sodium value from another listing, the guide records those fields as not declared.
The sodium arithmetic
This package carries no Nutrition Facts panel, serving weight or sodium declaration. We therefore leave sodium per serving and sodium per gram uncomputed rather than substituting a theoretical value.
The ingredient list contains only sea salt, but a theoretical value is not a substitute for a figure declared on this jar.
The price
$7.95 for 226 g (8 oz) is $1.00 an ounce, or $15.96 a pound — $3.52 per 100 g, $35.18 a kilo. Among the 10 salts in the guide it is number 10 by price per weight, dearest first. We paid retail at The Spice Lab in Pompano Beach, FL, on September 19, 2026.
Tasting notes
None yet. We publish tasting notes only against a stated method — how many tasters, in what order, on what food — and we have not run that panel on this salt. When we do, they go here.
Package evidence



Similar salts in the guide

Cornish Sea Salt Co. — Smoky Flakes

Simply Organic — Hatch Chile Smoked Finishing Salt

OSMO — Flakey White Sea Salt

TRUFF — Black Truffle Salt
Read next
Why a salt company is doing this
Gaucho Provisions sells Patagonian sea salt. This guide records what is on other people’s labels, at the prices we paid, with a photograph of the crystal on white. Every field is copied from the package or the receipt; nothing is scored. We paid retail for every jar, nobody sent us one, and we have no relationship with any brand listed. Our own salts will be entered with the same fields and no more.