Gaucho Provisions
← The Salt Guide

Inside the package · Florida Pure

Florida Pure — Flake Sea Salt

Flake sea salt

A single-ingredient flake salt in a 50 g glass jar with a bamboo lid. The label names a St. Petersburg manufacturer and calls the salt hand-harvested, but does not state where its seawater was collected.

50 g1.75 oz package
Not yet testedGaucho tasting panel

$8.99 · recorded purchase. Florida Pure Sea Salt · September 19, 2026. Price record →

Original record No. 007 · Published September 19, 2026 · Updated September 19, 2026

Look inside ↓
Glass jar of Florida Pure Flake Sea Salt with a white label and bamboo lid
The jar. 50 g, glass, bamboo lid.

01 · Inside the package

A closer look.

SEA SALT

Ingredients as printed on the package.

Recorded origin. Not stated on package.

Florida Pure — Flake Sea Salt — contents view
Original photo note: The salt out of the jar: irregular white flakes and broken crystal fragments. Photographed on dark wood, unstyled. Public-image backgrounds may differ from the original.

02 · The story behind the package

What we can add

The package is unusually direct about formulation: one ingredient and an explicit statement that no anti-clumping agents are used. The flakes are irregular and brittle rather than uniform hollow pyramids, with a mix of larger plates and small broken fragments visible in the poured sample.

The front says Florida Pure and the back names a manufacturer in St. Petersburg, but neither panel states where the seawater was collected or where crystallisation occurred. A company address is not an origin statement, so this guide records the manufacturer location and leaves the salt origin unstated.

03 · In the kitchen

Tasting notes

None yet. We publish tasting notes only against a stated method — how many tasters, in what order, on what food — and we have not run that panel on this salt. When we do, they go here.

All package facts & comparison values

At a glance

Where is this salt from?

Not stated on package.

What are the ingredients?

SEA SALT

How much sodium does it contain?

390 mg per ¼ tsp; 390 mg per gram, computed.

What did it cost?

$8.99 for 50 g; $5.10 per ounce, purchased September 19, 2026.

Package facts and computed comparison values for Florida Pure — Flake Sea Salt
BrandFlorida Pure
Producer, as labelledFlorida Pure, LLC, St. Petersburg, Florida (manufacturer, as labelled)
Salt originNot stated on package
Business location on packageFlorida Pure, LLC, St. Petersburg, Florida, United States (manufacturer)
TypeFlake sea salt
Ingredients, verbatimSEA SALT
Net weight50 g · 1.75 oz
Serving¼ tsp (1 g) · 50 per container
Sodium per serving390 mg · 17% DV
Sodium per gram, computed390 mg (band 365–415) · 99% of pure sodium chloride
Price paid$8.99 for 50 g / 1.75 oz
Price per weight, computed$5.10 per oz · $81.56 per lb · $17.98 per 100 g · $179.80 per kg
Bought atFlorida Pure Sea Salt, St. Petersburg, FL · September 19, 2026
Importer / distributorManufactured by Florida Pure, LLC, St. Petersburg, FL 33713.
Barcode850046554115
Lot / date codeNo lot or date code visible in the photographs
What the label says

What the label says

Quoted as printed, so the claims can be read for what they are.

  • Flake · 100% All Natural · Hand-Harvested
  • Our pure salts are just that — pure. You’ll find no chemicals in our salts but you will find flavors of the ocean — crisp, clean and briny.
  • No anti-clumping agents are used in our products. Natural clumping may occur.
  • Women owned
Sodium arithmetic & its limits

The sodium arithmetic

The panel declares 390 mg of sodium in a ¼ tsp serving weighing 1 g, which works out to about 390 mg per gram. Pure sodium chloride is 393. Allowing for the rounding the label is permitted, the true figure sits somewhere in the 365–415 band, or roughly 99% of the sodium a gram of table salt would carry.

The panel declares 390 mg of sodium in a 1 g serving, nearly the theoretical 393 mg per gram for pure sodium chloride. That is consistent with a dry, single-ingredient salt. The three-milligram difference is smaller than the label rounding allowance and should not be read as a compositional distinction.

Recorded price & price per weight

The price

$8.99 for 50 g (1.75 oz) is $5.10 an ounce, or $81.56 a pound — $17.98 per 100 g, $179.80 a kilo. Among the 8 products in this guide’s legacy comparison set it is number 1 by price per weight, dearest first, and number 2 by sodium per gram. We paid retail at Florida Pure Sea Salt in St. Petersburg, FL, on September 19, 2026.

Package evidence

Original photography by Gaucho Provisions. Backgrounds are cleaned for consistency; package panels, label text, barcodes and date codes remain the photographed evidence.

Glass jar of Florida Pure Flake Sea Salt with a white label and bamboo lid
The jar. 50 g, glass, bamboo lid.
Nutrition Facts panel and barcode on the Florida Pure salt jar
Nutrition Facts and barcode, as printed.
Ingredient, manufacturer and storage panel on the Florida Pure salt jar
Ingredient, manufacturer, storage statement and package claims.

Similar products in this guide

Why a salt company is doing this

Gaucho Provisions sells Patagonian sea salt. This guide records package labels, available photographs and researched company information. Prices are documented from receipts or shelf tags when available; missing prices remain unconfirmed. Source notes distinguish label facts, company statements and owner reports. Nothing is scored. Our own salts will be entered with the same fields and no more.

← OSMOThe Spice Lab →
SharePost on X

← The Salt Guide

OriginNot statedProducerFlorida PureTypeFlake sea salt
Share

Sharing an image on Facebook or Instagram? Copy this caption and paste it into your post.