Gaucho Provisions
← The Salt Guide

Inside the package · Whole Foods Market

Whole Foods Market — Sea Salt Flakes

Sea salt flakes

A single-ingredient, non-iodized Greek flake salt in an 8.5 oz tub. The package states Product of Greece but does not identify the saltworks or harvesting region.

240 g8.5 oz package
Not yet testedGaucho tasting panel

$5.89 · recorded purchase. Whole Foods Market · August 23, 2026. Price record →

Original record No. 011 · Published September 19, 2026 · Updated September 19, 2026

Look inside ↓

About Whole Foods Market →

Tub of Whole Foods Market non-iodized Sea Salt Flakes
The tub. 240 g, clear plastic with a screw lid.

01 · Inside the package

A closer look.

SEA SALT

Ingredients as printed on the package.

Recorded origin. Greece — product of Greece; saltworks and region not stated.

Whole Foods Market — Sea Salt Flakes — contents view
Original photo note: The salt out of the tub: large, thin translucent plates with visible layered crystal structure. Photographed on dark wood, unstyled. Public-image backgrounds may differ from the original.

02 · The story behind the package

What we can add

The poured sample consists of large, brittle translucent plates, many several millimetres across, with layered striations visible in the crystal. It is visually distinct from the smaller irregular fleur de sel flakes and the dense coarse crystals elsewhere in the guide.

The package gives a clear country statement: Product of Greece. It does not identify a coast, saltworks, producer or harvesting method, so the guide records Greece without adding a regional claim.

Whole Foods Market is the brand and named US distributor. The tub carries a vegan mark, though a single-ingredient sea salt would ordinarily contain no animal-derived ingredient.

03 · In the kitchen

Tasting notes

None yet. We publish tasting notes only against a stated method — how many tasters, in what order, on what food — and we have not run that panel on this salt. When we do, they go here.

All package facts & comparison values

At a glance

Where is this salt from?

Greece — product of Greece; saltworks and region not stated.

What are the ingredients?

SEA SALT

How much sodium does it contain?

410 mg per ¼ tsp; 342 mg per gram, computed.

What did it cost?

$5.89 for 240 g; $0.70 per ounce, purchased August 23, 2026.

Package facts and computed comparison values for Whole Foods Market — Sea Salt Flakes
BrandWhole Foods Market
Producer, as labelledWhole Foods Market IP, Inc., Austin, Texas (distributor, as labelled)
Salt originGreece — product of Greece; saltworks and region not stated
Business location on packageWhole Foods Market IP, Inc., Austin, Texas, United States (distributor)
TypeSea salt flakes
Ingredients, verbatimSEA SALT
Net weight240 g · 8.5 oz
Serving¼ tsp (1.2 g) · 200 per container
Sodium per serving410 mg · 18% DV
Sodium per gram, computed342 mg (band 325–360) · 87% of pure sodium chloride
Price paid$5.89 for 240 g / 8.5 oz
Price per weight, computed$0.70 per oz · $11.13 per lb · $2.45 per 100 g · $24.54 per kg
Bought atWhole Foods Market, Deerfield, IL · August 23, 2026
Importer / distributorDistributed by Whole Foods Market IP, Inc., Austin, Texas 78703.
Barcode099482541309
Lot / date codeLot L-5414; best if used by OCT 09 30 (printed on tub)
What the label says

What the label says

Quoted as printed, so the claims can be read for what they are.

  • Sea Salt Flakes
  • Non-Iodized
  • This salt does not supply iodide, a necessary nutrient.
  • Vegan
  • Product of Greece
Sodium arithmetic & its limits

The sodium arithmetic

The panel declares 410 mg of sodium in a ¼ tsp serving weighing 1.2 g, which works out to about 342 mg per gram. Pure sodium chloride is 393. Allowing for the rounding the label is permitted, the true figure sits somewhere in the 325–360 band, or roughly 87% of the sodium a gram of table salt would carry.

The panel declares 410 mg of sodium in a 1.2 g serving, about 342 mg per gram. The permitted label-rounding band is broad enough that the computed value should be used for comparison, not as a precise assay of the salt's composition.

Recorded price & price per weight

The price

$5.89 for 240 g (8.5 oz) is $0.70 an ounce, or $11.13 a pound — $2.45 per 100 g, $24.54 a kilo. Among the 8 products in this guide’s legacy comparison set it is number 8 by price per weight, dearest first, and number 6 by sodium per gram. We paid retail at Whole Foods Market in Deerfield, IL, on August 23, 2026.

Package evidence

Original photography by Gaucho Provisions. Backgrounds are cleaned for consistency; package panels, label text, barcodes and date codes remain the photographed evidence.

Tub of Whole Foods Market non-iodized Sea Salt Flakes
The tub. 240 g, clear plastic with a screw lid.
Nutrition Facts, ingredients, Greek origin, distributor and barcode on Whole Foods Sea Salt Flakes
Nutrition Facts, ingredient, distributor, Greek origin and barcode.
Lot, best-by date, vegan mark and barcode on Whole Foods Sea Salt Flakes
Printed lot and best-by code, vegan mark and barcode.

Similar products in this guide

Why a salt company is doing this

Gaucho Provisions sells Patagonian sea salt. This guide records package labels, available photographs and researched company information. Prices are documented from receipts or shelf tags when available; missing prices remain unconfirmed. Source notes distinguish label facts, company statements and owner reports. Nothing is scored. Our own salts will be entered with the same fields and no more.

← Celtic Sea Salt
SharePost on X

← The Salt Guide

OriginGreeceProducerWhole Foods MarketTypeSea salt flakes
Share

Sharing an image on Facebook or Instagram? Copy this caption and paste it into your post.