Gaucho Provisions
← Journal
Guide · September 24, 2026

Every Smoked Salt We Could Verify, and Who Actually Smokes It

We checked 24 smoked salts against their makers' own pages. Two are gone, one of the rest is smoke-flavoured, and five do not say where their salt was made at all.
Twenty small open jars of smoked salt in a grid on a pale wooden table, ranging from pale gold to dark brown

We checked 24 smoked salts against their makers’ own current pages on 24 September 2026. Two are no longer offered. Of the 22 that remain, 21 claim real wood smoke and one, Falksalt, declares a 7 per cent smoke flavour. Eleven name the place their base salt was made, six from SaltWorks give only a country, and five do not say at all. Only six put on the record both who did the smoking and where.

How we checked

The list is Appendix B of our research register. For each product we read the maker’s own page, then its buying guides, press releases and data sheets where the page was silent. We used a retailer once, for a US label, and a newspaper once.

“Not disclosed” is a finding: we found nothing published on it.

The register

ProductBase salt and originWho smoked it, and whereWood or smoke routeDirect or flavouredGrain
Maldon Smoked Sea Salt FlakesMaldon’s own pyramid flakes, Maldon, EssexMaldon; site not disclosedOak; time not disclosedDirectFlakes
Halen Môn Pure Smoked Sea Salt over OakHalen Môn Pure Sea Salt PDO, Anglesey, WalesHalen Môn (“We smoke”); Brynsiencyn, per press reportOak chippings, “until it turns beautifully golden”DirectFlakes
Saltverk Birch Smoked SaltSaltverk flakes, Westfjords, Iceland“Smoked in Iceland”; facility not disclosedIcelandic birch, over 48 hDirectFlakes (sold out)
Jacobsen Infused Cherrywood Smoked SaltJacobsen flake, Netarts Bay, OregonJacobsen (“we”); site not disclosedCherrywood, cold; time not disclosedDirectFlakes (unavailable)
Cornish Sea Salt Smoked FlakesCornish Sea Salt, CornwallCornish Sea Salt Co., own cold smoker on siteOak, apple, cherryDirectFlakes
Cornish TekSalt Smoked FineCrystals of undisclosed origin, coated in Cornish brineCornish Sea Salt Co.; site not statedOak, cherry, apple; coldDirectFine, 15 kg trade
Alaska Pure Alder Smoked Flake Sea SaltAlaska Pure flakes, Sitka, AlaskaNot stated; site not disclosedAlderDirectFlakes
Olsson’s Red Gum Smoked SaltOlsson’s flakes, Spencer Gulf, South AustraliaNot stated; site not disclosedRed gum, cold, 72 hDirectFlakes
Redmond Smoked Real Salt, HickoryMined rock salt, central UtahRedmond (“we”); site not disclosedRed alder and hickory, 30 h, 130 °FDirectShaker
Redmond Smoked Real Salt, CherryMined rock salt, central UtahRedmond (“we”); site not disclosedCherry and alder, 30 h, 130 °FDirectShaker
Redmond Smoked Real Salt, Chef’s BlendMined rock salt, central UtahRedmond (“we”); site not disclosedFive woods, not named, 42 h, 130 °FDirectShaker
SaltWorks Salish AlderwoodSea salt; USA, site not disclosedSaltWorks, Woodinville, WABark-free red alder, cold, 48 hDirectFine, medium, coarse
SaltWorks Yakima ApplewoodSaltWorks flake sea salt; USA, site not disclosedSaltWorks, Woodinville, WAAged apple wood, cold; time not disclosedDirectFlake, 0–2.5 mm
SaltWorks Durango Hickory“Pacific flake sea salt”; USA, site not disclosedSaltWorks, Woodinville, WAUntreated hickory, cold; time not disclosedDirectFlake, 0–2.5 mm
SaltWorks El Dorado MesquiteSea salt; USA, site not disclosedSaltWorks, Woodinville, WAMesquite, cold; time not disclosedDirect1–2 mm
SaltWorks Robusto Hearty“Pacific flake sea salt”; made in USA, site not disclosedSaltWorks; site not statedHardwood and fruit wood, not named; cold; no timeDirectFlake
SaltWorks Bonfire Extra Bold“Snowflake Pacific Northwest Sea Salt”; USA, site not disclosedSaltWorks; site not statedSeven woods, 14 daysDirectSet only
San Francisco Salt Co. HickoryBought-in sea salt; origin not disclosedUnnamed third party; packed in MissouriHickory, cold; time not disclosedDirect (claim)Fine, coarse
San Francisco Salt Co. AlderwoodBought-in sea salt; origin not disclosedUnnamed third party; packed in MissouriPacific Northwest alder, coldDirect (claim)Fine, coarse
San Francisco Salt Co. ApplewoodBought-in sea salt; origin not disclosedUnnamed third party; packed in MissouriApplewood, coldDirect (claim)Fine
San Francisco Salt Co. CherrywoodBought-in sea salt; origin not disclosedUnnamed third party; packed in MissouriMaine cherrywood, coldDirect (claim)Not stated
Falksalt SmokeMediterranean sea salt, flakes made in CyprusNot smokedSmoke flavour, 7 per centFlavouredPyramid flakes, 4–12 mm

“Direct (claim)”: real wood smoke is claimed, but not who applied it.

What dropped out

SaltWorks Fumée de Sel, a Chardonnay-oak salt relaunched in November 2019, is gone from SaltWorks’ smoked collections; a shop search for “chardonnay” returns nothing. Redmond Apple Pecan still appears on the company’s process page as a limited edition; the current product page offers only Hickory, Cherry and Chef’s Blend. SaltWorks Bonfire survives only inside a three-salt set. Its seven woods are named only in the 2011 launch release.

Only one is smoke-flavoured, and it says so

Falksalt’s data sheet reads “Sea salt flakes, Smoke flavour 7%”. The US retail label reads “Salt (Sodium Chloride Min. 98%) and Smoke Flavoring Oak (7%).”

It is also a warning about colour. Falksalt calls its flakes “golden brown.” Halen Môn smokes “until it turns beautifully golden.” Colour says something is on the surface, not how it got there. The ingredient line, and the sodium arithmetic that goes with it, is the test.

Who made the salt is a different question from who smoked it

Makers selling their own salt smoked: Maldon, Halen Môn, Saltverk, Jacobsen, Cornish, Alaska Pure, Olsson’s, Redmond. Five say outright that they do the smoking: Maldon, Halen Môn, Jacobsen, Cornish and Redmond. A North Wales newspaper places Halen Môn’s smokery at Brynsiencyn, where a year of council monitoring found no statutory nuisance.

Processors who smoke salt they did not make: SaltWorks said in 2019 that it smokes at its own facility in Woodinville, Washington; that release did not name Robusto or Bonfire. All six pages give the country as USA and none a site; “Pacific” (Durango, Robusto) is an ocean.

Brands that buy salt and have it smoked: San Francisco Salt Company writes, “We source pure sea salt and have it traditionally cold-smoked.” Have it is the honest verb. The smoker is not named; packing is in southwest Missouri. That is legitimate. It is also how a salt or a smokehouse can change without the label changing. Cornish TekSalt sits between the boxes: brine-coated crystals of unstated origin. More on that pattern in who actually makes your sea salt.

Seven give a time, three give a temperature

Saltverk: over 48 hours. Salish: 48. Olsson’s: 72. Bonfire: 14 days. Redmond: 30 hours for hickory and cherry, 42 for Chef’s Blend, and the only temperature in the register — “blue smoke at 130 degrees Fahrenheit.”

Those are process statements, not audits. A time without temperature, smoke density and wood load compares with nothing. Everyone else says “cold”, “gently” or “slowly”, words that on salt have no legal definition we could find. See what smoked salt is for the process.

What this table does not prove

That any of the 21 is directly smoked; only that the maker says so. No maker here publishes a polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbon test, and we have tested none. It measures what a buyer is told.

Our own sourcing has holes. The Halen Môn smokehouse location comes from a newspaper. The Falksalt data sheet dates from 2020 and names Cyprus; the company’s home page says it packs in Sweden. The Bonfire wood list is fifteen years old. And we are developing smoked salts from our Patagonian salt; none is on sale. When one is, it will have to fill every column of this table.

The Salt Guide

We are recording the salts on the American shelf one jar at a time — label, panel, price paid, crystal on white. Browse the guide →

← All journal entries